Coochbehar Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91  

Cooch Behar (Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in India. The constituency centres on Cooch Behar in West Bengal. All the seven assembly segments of No. 1 Cooch Behar (Lok Sabha constituency) are in Cooch Behar district. The seat is reserved for scheduled castes.

1 Assembly segments
2 Election results
3 Results prior to 2009

Assembly segments

As per order of the Delimitation Commission in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, parliamentary constituency no. 1 Coochbehar, reserved for Scheduled castes (SC), is composed of the following segments from 2009:

Mathabhanga (SC) (assembly constituency no. 2)
Coochbehar Uttar (assembly constituency no. 3)
Coochbehar Dakshin (assembly constituency no. 4)
Sitalkuchi (SC) (assembly constituency no. 5)
Sitai (SC) (assembly constituency no. 6)
Dinhata (assembly constituency no. 7)
Natabari (assembly constituency no. 8)

The area under the Mathabhanga subdivision of the Cooch Behar district will constitute the assembly constituencies of Mathabhanga and Sitalkuchi, whereas the area under the Dinhata subdivision will form the constituencies of Dinahata and Sitai.[1] The area under Cooch Behar Sadar subdivision will form Cooch Behar Uttar, Cooch Behar Dakshin and Natabari constituencies, though Natabari will contain gram panchayats from Tufanganj subdivision also.

In 2004 Cooch Behar Lok Sabha constituency was composed of the following assembly segments:

Sitalkuchi (SC) (assembly constituency no. 2)
Mathabhanga (SC) (assembly constituency no. 3)
Cooch Behar North (assembly constituency no. 4)
Cooch Behar West (assembly constituency no. 5)
Sitai (assembly constituency no. 6)
Dinhata (assembly constituency no. 7)
Natabari (assembly constituency no. 8)

Election results

General Election, 2009: Cooch Behar[3]
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
Forward Bloc Nripendra Nath Roy 500,677 44.66
Trinamool Congress Arghya Roy Pradhan 466,928 41.65
BJP Bhabendra Nath Barman 65,325 5.83
Independent Bangshi Badan Barman 37,226 3.32
BSP Niranjan Barman 22,925 2.04
Independent Hitendra Das 11,374 1.01
AMB Dalendra Roy 6,486 0.58
Independent Nubash Barman 3,737 0.33
RPI Harekrishna Sarkar 3,405 0.30
Independent Krishna Kanta Barman 2,960 0.26
Turnout 1,121,043 84.35
Forward Bloc hold Swing

 Indian general election, 2009
West Bengal summary
Party Seats won Seat change
Trinamool Congress 19 Increase18
Indian National Congress 6 Increase0
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 1 Increase1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9 Decrease17
Communist Party of India 2 Decrease1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2 Decrease1
Forward bloc 2 Decrease1
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 Increase1

Source: List of successful candidates in General Elections 2009 to the 15th Lok Sabha
Statitical Report on General Elections 2004 to the 14th Lok Sabha

Results prior to 2009

Results of elections held prior to 2009 are summarised below:


In 1951, Upendra Nath Barman, Birendra Nath Katham and Amiya Kanta Basu, all of Congress, won the North Bengal seat.[4]The winners from Cooch Behar for subsequent elections are shown below.
Year Winner Party
1957[5] Santosh Banerjee Congress
Upendra Nath Barman Congress
1958 (by-election)[6] Nalini Ranjan Ghosh Congress
1962[7] Debendranath Karjee Forward Bloc
1967[8] Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury Congress
1971[9] Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury Congress


Year Winner Runner-up
Candidate Party Candidate Party
1977[10] Amarendra Nath Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury Indian National Congress
1980 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Ambika Charan Roy Indian National Congress (I)
1984 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Prasenjit Barman Indian National Congress
1989 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Sabita Roy Indian National Congress
1991 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Sabita Roy Indian National Congress
1996 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Sabita Roy Indian National Congress
1998 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Gobinda Roy Forward Bloc (Socialist)
1999 Amar Roy Pradhan Forward Bloc Ambika Charan Ray All India Trinamool Congress
2004 Hiten Barman All India Forward Bloc Girindra Nath Barman All India Trinamool Congress

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91